What is the Express Entry?

Express Entry is not one of the multiple immigration programs, but a system, created by the Federal Government, initiating Canadian permanent residence. It was established in January 2015 and changed the previous “first come, first served” proceeding. Express Entry (EE) permits the Immigration, Refugees, and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) to offer an invitation to applicants who are eligible to move to Canada. It has three federal immigration programs (Federal Skilled Workers, Federal Skilled Trades, Canadian Experience Class), as well as several Provincial immigration programs (Provincial Nominee Program).

Comprehensive Ranking System

Potential candidates submit their applications online in the Express Entry system, in which they document their eligibility for selection (official languages, level of education, occupation, work experience, relatives in Canada and other factors). After filling out the profile, the candidate falls into the general system of selection of participants. Invitees are determined based on the number of points they have scored. The maximum number of possible points is 1200. As of 2020, one needs 450-470 points to be invited. In general, every two weeks IRCC invites the candidates with the highest CRS score to apply for a Permanent Residency in Canada.

Federal Skilled Workers Program.

This program is for skilled and experienced foreign workers to get permanent residence in Canada.
There are six main eligibility criteria for this program:

  • age
  • level of education
  • work experience
  • job offer from a Canadian employer
  • knowledge of the official languages
  • personal adaptability

You need to score 67 points out of 100 possible to be eligible.

Federal Skilled Trades

Federal Skilled Trades (FST) is one of three federal programs served by the Express Entry selection system and is oriented on qualified and skilled tradespeople who want to come to Canada as a permanent resident.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • work experience in a trade
  • language level
  • a valid full-time job offer or a certificate of qualification

Canadian Experience Class

Canadian Experience Class (CEC) is a third federal immigration program processed via the Express Entry system. It is created for those experienced and skilled specialists, who have already worked in Canada for at least one year. Typically, such candidates are living and working in Canada, so they do not have any problems with the adaptation.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • successful work experience for a Canadian employer in Canada
  • language level of English and/or French

Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)

Each province has its immigration programs and criteria. This program is created for those experienced skilled and semi-skilled foreign workers, businessmen and students, who want to live in a specific province or territory. There are eleven provincial programs that have over 80 immigration streams, and about 20 of them are linked to Express Entry.

  • British Columbia Provincial Nominee Program (BCPNP)
  • Alberta Immigrant Nominee Program (AINP)
  • Saskatchewan Immigrant Nominee Program (SINP)
  • Manitoba Provincial Nominee Program (MPNP)
  • Ontario Immigrant Nominee Program (OINP)
  • Nova Scotia Nominee Program (NSNP)
  • New Brunswick Provincial Nominee Program (NBPNP)
  • Prince Edward Island Provincial Nominee Program (PEIPNP)
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Provincial Nominee Program (NLPNP)
  • Yukon Nominee Program (YNP)
  • Northwest Territories Nominee Program (NTNP)

If you still any questions considering immigration through Express Entry, contact us to get more info!